DIY: Reclaimed Wood Dining Table

19 Jul

Our new dining table is nearly complete! My amazingly handy pops and I worked tirelessly for two consecutive days – the only part left is probably another day of sanding, planing and varnishing the table top. The table top and frame is reclaimed wood taken from shipping crates out of Indonesia. The guys at the yard called it “java mix.” The 4 X 4 legs are reclaimed Douglas Fir…I would have preferred some 5 X 5 oak beams, but they were $150 more. 😦 I’ll make sure to post some more pictures after it’s completely finished because a few coats of polyurethane will really make the colors on the top stand out.

All in all, I’m just happy my design worked and the table didn’t collapse when we put the two thousand pound table top onto the legs.

My business partner will be out here in a few weeks. Orders can be placed in September. 🙂

5 Responses to “DIY: Reclaimed Wood Dining Table”

  1. Jamie July 20, 2010 at 8:22 PM #

    Oh my. I love it… So impressed, although then I remember that dad is grandpa's son and you are dad's son :). Still amazing though. You and Paul will have so much fun working together.And, I meant to comment on the last post (unless I did and just don't remember). It was a very sweet post.

  2. Mike and Joni July 20, 2010 at 9:31 PM #

    The picture of you and dad made me cry. What a great photo. Love you so much. Amazing table. way to go Josh and Dad!

  3. allnsundry July 21, 2010 at 12:39 PM #

    that's so good!! i'm truly impressed. also great that you got to make it with your dad! I especially love the top. and who knew the table legs would be so expensive. really nice job!

  4. JohnHWC July 22, 2010 at 5:18 PM #

    two thousand pound top???Who else helped you lift it?

  5. Anonymous July 25, 2010 at 5:55 PM #

    I want one…but don't want to pay postage….Jo

Leave a comment